E: Edible Flowers

A2Z-BADGE [2016]

E: EDIBLE FLOWERS

Many flowers are edible and create enticing dishes with their unusual appearance.

Besides the flowers of culinary herbs, these flowers are also edible:
Bachelor’s-Button, Calendula (petals), Carnations (petals), Chrysanthemum (petals), Citrus tree blossoms, Cornflower, Dandelion (petals), Daylily, English Daisy (petals), Fuchsia, Gladiola, Hibiscus, Hollyhock, Honeysuckle, Johnny-Jump-Up, Nasturtium, Pansy, Rose (petals), Scented Geraniums, Snapdragon, Squash (especially male zucchini blossoms), Tulip, Viola, Violet, and Yucca.

On the flowers where petals is notated, it’s because the other parts of the flower (the stamen, sepal and calyx) may be bitter.

I haven’t tried all of these, but I’ve used Calendula, Dandelion, Honeysuckle, Johnny-Jump-Up, Nasturtium, Pansy, Rose, Snapdragon, Squash and Violets. I think my favorites are Calendula, Nasturtium, Rose and Violets for the flavor and for the look.

Many recipes use flower petals, they’re beautiful sprinkled over salads, mixed into iced teas, or placed atop a frosted cake.

edible flowers

Orange Calendula Drop Cookies (from Herbal Treasures, by Phyllis Shaudys)

6 to 8 fresh calendula blossoms
½ cup butter, room temperature
½ cup granulated sugar
granted rind of 2 oranges
2 TB orange juice concentrate, room temperature
1 tsp vanilla
2 eggs, lightly beaten
2 cups flour
2 ½ tsp baking powder
¼ tsp salt
1 cup almond halves

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Rinse calendula blossoms; pull off petals and set aside.
Cream butter, sugar, and orange rind until fluffy.
Add orange juice concentrate and vanilla.
Stir in eggs until blended.
Sift together flour, baking powder, and salt.
Blend calendula petals and dry ingredients into creamed mixture.
Drop dough by teaspoonfuls onto lightly greased cookie sheets.
Press an almond half into each cookie.
Bake 12 to 15 minutes until golden brown.

Have you used any edible flowers before? Which ones did you use? How did your dish turn out? If you haven’t used any before, which ones would you like to try?

6 thoughts on “E: Edible Flowers

    • I’m with you, buying them is pretty pricey! A friend told me that her husband came home with a box of dandelion flowers a few weeks ago. He said he wanted to try to make dandelion wine. She asked where he’d gotten the flowers. “Off the side of the road.” Ummmm…NO! Not knowing who’d sprayed what there, car exhaust, oil dripping, etc. Safer to harvest your own flowers when you know they’re all safe.
      Thanks for stopping by. I’ll go check out your blog too.

      Like

  1. I’ve used edible flowers on occasion. I’ve used pansies, nasturtiums, rose petals and lavender. When my daughters were little, we used to decorate fairy cakes with violets, too. I grew the pansies and nasturtiums and violets, but bought the other two.
    I didn’t know that tulips were edible! But I don’t have enough in my yard to eat anyhow!

    Liked by 2 people

    • You’ve used some of my favorites. What fun, decorating fairy cakes with your girls. I’ll bet they really enjoyed that.
      I haven’t tried tulips either. But as I just planted my first two bulbs this spring, I don’t have enough to nibble on either.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

