F: Flowers of the Month in Memory Gardens

 

F: Flowers of the Month in Memory Gardens

Birth flowers of the month and birthstones seem to be something that’s fallen out of favor. Hopefully not. Maybe I just don’t hear about them as often as I did growing up. Flowers of the month are something I’ve been using in my memory garden.

My memory garden is a flower bed area that I’ve set aside specifically to have as a remembrance garden. If a loved one had a favorite flower or color that I associate with them, I use those. Such as zinnias for my brother and carnations for Grandpa Jones. Grandma Jones loved cardinals, so a polyresin cardinal is in the garden to remember her. However, for many people that I want to commemorate in my garden, there isn’t a specific plant or color that I know of. For those, I use flowers of the month. I’ll choose either the flower from their birth month, or the flower from the month of their passing.

Here are the flowers that represent the different birth months.

January: Carnation

February: Primrose

March: Daffodil

April: Sweet Pea

May: Lily of the Valley

June: Rose/Honeysuckle

July: Delphinium

August: Poppy/Gladiolus

September: Morning Glory/Aster

October: Calendula/Marigold

November: Chrysanthemum/Peony

December: Holly/Narcissus

Are there any specific flowers or plants that remind you of loved ones that have passed?

zinnias

4 thoughts on “F: Flowers of the Month in Memory Gardens

    • Yes, memory gardens can be as large or as small as you’d like! It could even be just a pot on the porch. Anything that reflects your memories of your loved ones. One of my friends doesn’t ‘do plants’ at all. Her memory garden consists of small statues, stones, sea shells, stepping stones with inscriptions – all in a small planter area about 3′ x 6′.

      Like

    • They don’t necessarily have to be in a certain area or designated spot. Because those shrubs are dedicated to your grandparents, when you see them, you think of your grandparents. That’s the important thing.

      Like

Leave a Reply

