D: Dill

A2Z-BADGE [2016]In participation with the A to Z Blog Challenge for 2016, we’re posting about all things herbal, all in an A to Z theme. We’ll post every day during April, except Sunday’s – when we all get time off for good behavior.

I hope you enjoy these herb posts. Check out some of the awesome blogs that are participating in the A to Z Challenge this year. There’s over 1700 blogs participating in the challenge, so I’m sure you’ll find some treasures in there.

Dill – most people either love it…or hate it. I’m in the Dill Lover category myself.

This herb is fairly easy to grow as an annual and makes a beautiful addition to any summer garden. Watch out if you get any helpers though. They might mistake it for a weed and level the poor little plant. (Does it sound like I speak from experience?)

dill2To grow your own dill, it’s best to seed directly in the garden. Sow seeds ¼” deep and about 18” apart. It germinates best when it’s between 60 and 70 degrees. It has a long taproot and doesn’t transplant well. For an extended harvest, sow seeds every few weeks. The lacy, feathery leaves create the dillweed that you purchase in the spice section of the grocery store. The plant will flower at the top of the main stem, with an umbel of brilliant yellow blossoms. Let it go to seed and you’ll have dill seed to harvest. Keep few heads on the plants and it will self-sow for a crop next year.

Here’s a favorite recipe that calls for dill. From Herb Store Favorites.

Tomato Dill Soup

Of course, I also have to include my own favorite soup. I can make a whole meal out of just this soup. It also is a great crock pot meal. Mix it up several hours before needed. Cook on low and on serving add a dollop of sour cream and you’re ready to go.

Ingredients:

1 large can of tomato juice (approximate ½ gallon size)
1 15 oz can crushed or diced tomatoes
1 tsp dried dill weed
½ tsp garlic powder
1 8 oz container heavy whipping cream
sour cream for garnish

Directions:

Mix tomato juice, crushed tomatoes, dill weed, and garlic powder. Heat thoroughly. Lower heat and add heavy whipping cream. (Heat slowly or cream may curdle.) Don’t allow soup to boil. Top each serving with a dollop of sour cream and a light sprinkle of dill weed.

For cooking in a crock pot, heat initial ingredients on high for about an hour. Turn to low and add the whipping cream.

15 thoughts on “D: Dill

  1. Personally I wasn’t a dill fan until recently. I had a chicken salad sandwich that called for dill and absolutely loved it! I realized I hadn’t had dill since my childhood years, didn’t like it and never gave it a chance. I’m glad my friend served it without specifying the recipe called for it because I’m now a dill LOVER!

    I’m visiting your lovely blog from the A-Z signup page. I was here on day 1 and enjoyed it and have just clicked the follow button so I can continue to see the alphabet unfold in herbs 🙂

    [@NikisSimpleLife] #485 (as of today)
    https://therichnessofasimplelife.wordpress.com/2016/04/05/definition-of-an-emotion/
    May 2016 Kindness Challenge
    Connect on Facebook
    Connect on Twitter

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I love Dill, especially on salmon. I don’t know that I’d take the time to grow it though…I don’t have a green thumb at all. Besides, my dogs would probably pee on it. 🙂
    Thanks for sharing your Tomato Dill soup. I’m going to give that a try… Sounds delish.

    Michele at Angels Bark

    Liked by 1 person

    • I had a nice dill going one year. Tall, flourishing and just beginning to set seed heads. And then…my better half went out and did the weed eating. Big sigh…no fresh dill that year lol

      Like

Leave a comment